June 24th in Tehran

foreign involvement in Iran does not sit well with the Iranian people. The first half of the 1900’s saw a lot of resentment against British control of Iran’s oil production. Britian formed the Anglo-Persian Oil Company (APOC) where Iran was only entitled to 16% of the profits.Not only was Britian controlling Iranian oil, but they were strongly influential in the politics and internal affairs. They were responsible for taking the king, Reza Shah, out of power and replacing him with his more agreeable and less nationalistically minded son, Reza Pahlavi. Then came the British and American involvement of the overthrow of the icon of Iranian nationalism, Mossadegh. This overthrow is widely recognized as the CIA’s first attempt to overthrow a foreign leader. The reason for Mossadegh’s overthrow? When the APOC (which had then changed to the AIOC Aglo-Iranian Oil Company) refused Mossadegh’s negotiation of dividing the profits 50/50, he became the leader in forming the National Iranian Oil Company (NIOC). This would have made the oil company strictly run and owned by Iranians. The meddling of Britian and America continued through the decades that followed, where the Shah (Reza Pahlavi) followed in his father’s footsteps by modernizing Iran through opening it up to the west. Events surrounding the revolution of 1978 are still unclear but it is well known in Iranian circles that foreign forces were involved, whether American or Soviet. Something that IS clear is that the Shah refused Carter’s 50 year contract of selling Iranian oil at $8 a barrel and Carter had a idea in place called the “Green Belt” which called for a line of religious governments in the Middle East to ward off Soviet communism. Whatever the case, most of the 1900’s saw a lot of foreign involvement because of Iran’s hot commodity, oil, and it has been well noticed by the Iranian people. So what happens now? Many are disheartened with Obama’s speech yesterday, wanting him to take real action. But this is a delicate situation. On one hand you have a population that is tired of foreign meddling but wants to see real change and on the other hand you have a country, America, that is dependent on Iranian support to bring stability to the region and does not want to rock the boat any further. Of course there is so much more happening behind the scenes with the split between Obama and the right’s adamant push for tough action. Will this just die down or will something really change? As much as i wish i could say it is up to the people, i have to admit that even now it is still in the hands of foreign powers.

here is something from a resident in Tehran from june 24th

Were there strikes in Tehran yesterday?

“People are going to work. No one has asked the people to stay at home. No one has called for a strike. Mousavi has not asked people to do this. In fact, I was at Tehran’s Grand Bazaar yesterday. I spoke to many of the merchants. I told them I heard there was a strike today but you’ve all showed up to work. As one of them said, “Lady, I voted for Mousavi. If Mousavi asks us to go on strike, I will. But who will pay my bills?”

I also spoke to a restaurant worker yesterday. He said he also voted for Mousavi. He said if I don’t work for a week, I have nothing to live on the week after. I have no way to feed my wife and kids.

But strikes could happen. The mood is tense and the environment for strikes is actually there. There is a lot of talk about it. Everyone is discussing the possibility of strikes. But so far no one has gone on strike. The banks are open for business. All the stores in the Bazaar were open.

I’m looking over Modares Avenue. Traffic is as normal as ever.

One thing Mousavi has asked people to do however is to turn up on their rooftops at 10 pm and shout “Allah o Akbar” [God is Great]. And this does take place. It takes place in full force from about 10 to 10:30 or 10:45 every night. No matter what neighborhood you’re in Tehran, you will hear this.

People have started to scribble slogans on money that is passed around. On one bill I got yesterday someone had written “Where is my vote?”

If people are not turning up in the streets to protest, they are finding other ways to engage in civil disobedience. On Monday, for example, Mousavi had asked people to turn on their headlights in the street from 5 to 6 pm.

But this demonstration that was supposed to take place in Baherestaan was not called for by Mousavi. I don’t know if people turned out, or how many; I wasn’t there. But those things generally tend to have a life of their own. Those demonstrators are not waiting to hear from Mousavi.

Those who are middle aged are taking this a lot better than we are. They have been through something like this before (1978-79) and have a lot of patience. They are hopeful about all this. My generation is glum. They’re depressed. There is so much crying.

I wish there was a way the world could do more. Even embassies like the Italian one, which tried to open its doors and take in those who were injured, was stopped from doing so by the police here.

I can’t talk anymore. Bye.”

_________________________________________________________

UPDATE FROM RESIDENTS WHO LIVE NEAR PARLIAMENT/MAJLIS BUILDING IN BAHARESTAN

“I just talked to [X, Y, Z].  They told me about the demonstrations in front of the Majles. They are right behind Majles on Iran street. They said that a huge crowd is there.”

From Tehran, 24 June 2009

“Just to let you all know, R. was arrested last night in Tehran; I’m not sure where and why. I got a call from his phone by the police who wanted me to confirm details. I had to tell them how long we’d lived in [here], how we met, what he and I do for work, where I work, my nationality, about his family and also where I live. He was carrying his laptop, external HD and camera so I’m guessing he’s having that looked though. They told me he’d be released any minute now last night. I doubt that.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment